Le Congrès mondial de la Nature

A NEW STEP AFTER THE PARIS AGREEMENT

The IUCN World Conservation Congress, to be held in Parc Chanot, Marseille between 11-19 June 2020, is a decisive meeting to accelerate French public policies and raise awareness about nature conservation and biodiversity.

Leading up to the 15th Conference of Parties (COP) at the Convention on Biological Diversity (China, 2020), this event constitutes a unique opportunity to reinforce national and international action for the preservation of biodiversity.

THE INTERNATIONAL UNION FOR THE CONSERVATION OF NATURE

The International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is a membership Union uniquely composed of both government and civil society organizations. It provides public, private and non-governmental organizations with the knowledge and tools that enable human progress, economic development and nature conservation to take place together.

Created March the 5th 1948 in Fontainebleau, France, it has become the world authority regarding the state of the natural world and the measures necessary to safeguard it: with its 1,300 members and 10,000 international experts, the IUCN is the largest and most diverse environmental network on the planet. 

The IUCN experts are divided into six Commissions, each dedicated to: Species Conservation, Ecosystem Management, Protected Areas, Environmental Law, Economic and Social Policies, Education and Communication. The knowledge and tools provided by the IUCN makes it possible to establish its Red List of endangered species each year. 

 

THE IUCN CONGRESS’ OBJECTIVES

Held every four years, the IUCN World Conservation Congress brings together several thousand leaders and decision-makers from governments, civil society, indigenous peoples, business and academia, with the aim of preserving the environment and use the solutions that nature provides to meet the current challenges of our planet.

Its objectives are :

Establish and influence action priorities for conservation
Gather and mobilize the global conservation network
Identify and discuss important and emerging conservation issues
Launch specific actions in favor of conservation
Prepare for COP15 of the Convention on Biological Diversity to be held in China, late 2020

MARSEILLE 2020

A CONGRESS ARTICULATED AROUND 7 THEMES

Management of spaces for nature and people
Protecting water to support life
Restoring ocean health
Implementing nature-based solutions against climate change
Supporting rights, ensuring fair and just governance
Transforming finance and the economy
Pushing the boundaries of technology and knowledge

NATURE GENERATION AREAS FOR THE GENERAL PUBLIC

For the first time, there will be spaces dedicated to highlighting the actions and engagement of non-state actors and citizens, mobilized in the fight against the erosion of biodiversity.

The Nature Generation Areas, piloted by the French Ministry of Ecological and Solidarity Transition and the French Biodiversity Agency, will be open to the general public at the Congress venue in Parc Chanot, Marseille. They will allow everyone to enjoy innovative, creative, fun experiences and will showcase the mobilisation efforts and actions of citizens, regions, companies, as well as those of all the actors involved in the fight against biodiversity loss.

WHAT IS BIODIVERSITY?

Difficult as it is to clearly define what biodiversity is, it is easier to start with what it is not:

Biodiversity is not a list of independent species. It is a living, real and moving whole, the foundation of life on Earth. More than a characteristic, it is life itself. We call it "the living tissue of the planet"

Biodiversity is not just about the diversity of species. It also refers to the diversity of genes and ecosystems.

Biodiversity is not just an environmental issue. It is also an issue linked to development, to the economy, to security, society and ethics, it is a cultural issue. The term was first internationalized at the Rio Planetary Summit in 1992, a political event and not primarily a scientific one.

FACING THE SIXTH EXTINCTION

By 2050, more than a quarter of living species could disappear due to climate change, that has never occurred in human history.

Today, a third of bird species in France are threatened.

There have already been five other "extinctions" since the appearance of life on Earth, that is to say mass collapses of species linked to sudden and rapid changes in environmental and climatic conditions. The last crisis, 65 million years ago, marked the disappearance of the dinosaurs. It was caused by the arrival of a huge meteorite that probably fell in Central America. Currently, we are witnessing a massive disappearance of species, at a rate at least a thousand times greater than the natural rate of extinction.

The"originality" of this sixth crisis, apart from its immense scale, is that it is not linked to external climatic upheavals but that we humans are the root cause. The five direct factors of change affecting nature have been identified (in order of importance): Changes in Land and Sea Use, Direct Exploitation of Certain Organisms, Change Climate, Pollution, Invasive Alien Species.

The IUCN Red List regularly assesses and reports on the health of the world's biodiversity. The report is alarming. Worldwide, according to the latest update, 22% of all known mammals, 30% of amphibians, 12% of birds, 28% of reptiles, 37% of freshwater fish, 70% of plants and 35% invertebrates are endangered.

ACT

There are many ways to safeguard Biodiversity which vary according to the actors, the strategies and the means available. Some focus on law and legal action, others through technical innovation, but among the various solutions that exist, they are called nature-based solutions, which rely on ecosystems to meet global challenges are often overlooked or underestimated.

Concretely, they concern three types of actions, which can be combined in different territories, namely the preservation of ecosystems that are intact and in good ecological condition, the improvement of the sustainable management of ecosystems used by human activities, and the restoration of degraded ecosystems or creation of ecosystems.

What if, like nature-based solutions, we complement this with culture-based solutions? This is the commitment of VIVANT, to develop and deploy concrete local initiatives throughout France.

NB : ces sources et les différents rapports d'où elles sont extraites sont trouvables sur le site de l'UICN

Le Congrès mondial de la Nature

UNE NOUVELLE ÉTAPE APRÈS LES ACCORDS DE PARIS

Le Congrès mondial de la nature organisé par l’UICN qui se tiendra au Parc Chanot à Marseille, du 11 au 19 juin 2020, constitue une rencontre décisive pour accélérer les politiques publiques françaises et la sensibilisation des citoyens en faveur de la préservation de la nature et de la biodiversité.

Cet événement constitue une opportunité unique, avec la COP15 sur la Diversité Biologique qui se tiendra aussi en 2020 en Chine, de renforcer l’action pour la préservation de la biodiversité, tant au niveau national qu’au niveau international.

L’UNION INTERNATIONALE POUR LA CONSERVATION DE LA NATURE

L’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) est une union de Membres composée de gouvernements et d’organisations de la société civile qui vise à oeuvrer pour que le progrès humain, le développement économique et la conservation de la nature se réalisent en harmonie.

Depuis sa création le 5 octobre 1948 à Fontainebleau, en France, elle est devenue l’autorité mondiale pour ce qui concerne l’état du monde naturel et les mesures nécessaires afin de le sauvegarder : avec ses 1300 membres et ses 10 000 experts internationaux, l’UICN est le réseau environnemental le plus vaste et diversifié de la planète.

Les experts de l’UICN se divisent en six Commissions, chacune dédiée : à la sauvegarde des espèces, à la gestion des écosystèmes, aux aires protégées, au droit de l'environnement, aux politiques économiques et sociales, à l'éducation et à la communication. Les connaissances et les outils fournis par l’UICN permettent notamment d'établir chaque année la liste rouge des espèces menacées (voir la liste rouge des espèces menacées en France).

 

LES OBJECTIFS DES CONGRÈS DE L'UICN

Organisé tous les quatre ans, le Congrès mondial de la nature de l’UICN rassemble plusieurs milliers de leaders et décisionnaires issus de gouvernements, de la société civile, des peuples autochtones, du monde des affaires et du milieu universitaire, dans le but de préserver l’environnement et d'utiliser les solutions que la nature apporte pour relever les défis actuels de notre planète.

Ses objectifs sont :

Etablir et influer sur les priorités d’action pour la conservation
Rassembler et mobiliser le réseau mondial de la conservation
Identifier et échanger sur les questions importantes et émergentes de la conservation
Lancer des actions spécifiques en faveur de la conservation
Préparer la COP15 de la Convention sur la diversité biologique qui se tiendra fin 2020 en Chine

MARSEILLE 2020

UN CONGRÈS ARTICULÉ AUTOUR DE
7 THÉMATIQUES

Gestion des espaces pour la nature et les hommes
Protéger l’eau pour le maintien de la vie
Restaurer la santé des océans
Mettre en place des solutions basées sur la nature contre le changement climatique
Soutenir les droits et assurer une gouvernance équitable et juste
Transformer la finance et l’économie
Repousser les limites de la technologie et de la connaissance

 

DES ESPACES GÉNÉRATIONS NATURE
POUR LE GRAND PUBLIC

Pour la première fois, des espaces dédiés viseront à mettre en lumière les actions et les engagements des acteurs non étatiques et des citoyens mobilisés dans la lutte contre l’érosion de la biodiversité.

Les Espaces Générations Nature seront ouverts au grand public, sur le lieu même du Congrès, au Parc Chanot à Marseille. Ils proposent à tous de vivre des expériences innovantes, créatives et ludiques et constituent une vitrine de la mobilisation et de l’action des citoyens, des territoires, des entreprises ainsi que de tous les acteurs de la lutte contre l’érosion de la biodiversité.

LA BIODIVERSITÉ, C’EST QUOI ?

S’il est difficile de définir rigoureusement ce qu’est la biodiversité, il est déjà plus aisé de dire ce qu’elle n’est pas :

 

La biodiversité n’est pas une liste d’espèces indépendantes. Elle est un ensemble vivant, réel et mouvant, au fondement de la vie sur Terre. Plus qu’une caractéristique, elle est la vie même. On l’appelle « le tissu vivant de la planète »

La biodiversité ne concerne pas que la diversité des espèces. Elle renvoie aussi à la diversité des gènes et des écosystèmes.

La biodiversité n’est pas qu’une question environnementale. C’est aussi un enjeu lié au développement, à l’économie, la sécurité, la société et l’éthique, c’est une question culturelle. Le terme s’est d’ailleurs mondialisé lors du Sommet planétaire de Rio en 1992, c’est-à-dire, un événement politique et non pas d’abord scientifique.

FACE À LA SIXIÈME EXTINCTION DU VIVANT

D'ici 2050, plus d'un quart des espèces pourraient disparaître à cause du dérèglement climatique, ce qui n'a jamais eu lieu auparavant dans l'histoire de l'humanité.
Aujourd'hui, en France, ce sont un tiers des oiseaux qui sont menacés
.

Il y en a eu déjà cinq autres "extinctions" depuis l’apparition de la vie sur Terre, c’est-à-dire des effondrements massifs d’espèces liés à des modifications brutales et rapides des conditions environnementales et climatiques. La dernière crise, il y a 65 millions d’années, a signé la disparition des dinosaures. Elle a été provoquée par l’arrivée d’une énorme météorite tombée probablement en Amérique centrale. Actuellement, nous connaissons une disparition massive d’espèces, à un rythme au moins mille fois supérieur au taux naturel d’extinction.

La grande « originalité » de cette sixième crise, c’est qu’elle n’est pas liée à des bouleversements climatiques extérieurs et que nous, humains, en sommes à l’origine. Pour la première fois à une telle échelle, les cinq facteurs directs de changement qui affectent la nature ont été identifiés (par ordre décroissant) : les changements d’usage des terres et de la mer, l’exploitation directe de certains organismes, le changement climatique, la pollution, les espèces exotiques envahissantes.

La Liste rouge des espèces menacées de l’UICN dresse régulièrement un bilan de santé de la biodiversité mondiale. Le constat est alarmant. Dans le monde, selon la dernière mise à jour, 22 % de tous les mammifères connus, 30 % des amphibiens, 12 % des oiseaux, 28 % des reptiles, 37 % des poissons d’eau douce, 70 % des plantes et 35 % des invertébrés sont aujourd’hui menacés.

AGIR

Il existe de nombreuses méthodes relatives à la sauvegarde de la biodiversité qui interviennent selon les acteurs, les stratégies et les moyens disponibles. Certaines passent par le droit et l'action juridique, d'autres par l'innovation technique, mais parmi le panel des solutions proposées celles offertes par la nature sont souvent méconnues ou sous-estimées, on les appelle les solutions fondées sur la nature. Elles s’appuient sur les écosystèmes afin de relever les défis globaux.

Concrètement, elles concernent trois types d’actions, qui peuvent être combinées dans les territoires, à savoir la préservation des écosystèmes intacts et en bon état écologique, l’amélioration de la gestion durable d’écosystèmes utilisés par les activités humaines, et la restauration d’écosystèmes dégradés ou la création d’écosystèmes.

Et si, à l'image des solutions fondées sur la nature, on n'aurait pas des solutions fondées sur la culture ? C'est l'engagement que VIVANT souhaite mener à travers le déploiement d'initiatives concrètes et locales sur l'ensemble du territoire.

 

 

NB : ces sources et les différents rapports d'où elles sont extraites sont trouvables sur le site de l'UICN